Laws & Regulations
In New Mexico all persons who are under 18 years of age are required to take a New Mexico-Approved Snowmobile Safety Course, and obtain a snowmobile safety certificate when riding on public lands.
Exception to Education Requirements
You are not required to carry a snowmobile safety certificate in the following cases:
- If you are 18 years of age or older
Other age restrictions in New Mexico
In addition to the required snowmobile safety certificate, all riders who are under 18 and who are riding on public lands must abide by these restrictions:
- They must wear a securely fastened helmet that meets DOT approval;
- They must wear goggles or safety glasses;
- They may NEVER carry a passenger (even on Snowmobiles designed for passenger use);
- They MUST be under direct supervision of a responsible adult.
Ride Safe and Legal!
Before heading out onto New Mexico's snowmobile trails please remember to follow all safety regulations and best practices to ensure a safe and enjoyable ride:
- Always wear an approved helmet and safety gear while riding.
- Ensure your snowmobile is properly registered in the state.
- Ride at a safe speed. Reduce speed at night or in reduced visibility.
- Obtain the landowner's permission before riding on private lands.
- Never ride while under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
The laws and regulations listed on this page are meant as a quick reference for snowmobile riders. It is your responsibility to know ALL snowmobile laws before heading out. For a complete listing of snowmobile laws and regulations in New Mexico please consult the New Mexico DGF at www.wildlife.state.nm.us.
You can take the snowmobile safety course online and get your snowmobile safety certificate today! Simply click on the link below to get started.