Laws & Regulations
In New York all persons who are at least 10 years of age and less than 18 years of age are required to take a New York State Approved Snowmobile Safety Course, and obtain a snowmobile safety certificate when riding on public lands. In addition, operators who are at least 10 years of age but less than 14 MUST be accompanied by (within 500 feet of) a person at least 18 years of age.
Exception to Education Requirements
You are not required to carry a snowmobile safety certificate in the following cases:
- If you are over the age of 13 and under the age of 18 you can operate a snowmobile if you are accompanied (within 500 feet of) a person at least 18 years of age.
Ride Safe and Legal!
Before heading out onto New York's snowmobile trails please remember to follow all safety regulations and best practices to ensure a safe and enjoyable ride:
- Always wear an approved helmet and safety gear while riding.
- Ensure your snowmobile is properly registered in the state.
- Ride at a safe speed. Reduce speed at night or in reduced visibility.
- Obtain the landowner's permission before riding on private lands.
- Never ride while under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
The laws and regulations listed on this page are meant as a quick reference for snowmobile riders. It is your responsibility to know ALL snowmobile laws before heading out. For a complete listing of snowmobile laws and regulations in New York please consult the New York State Office of Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation at www.nyparks.com.
You can study the snowmobile safety course online to help you prepare for a classroom course in order to obtain your snowmobile safety certificate! Simply click on the link below to get started.